Ride-sharing is becoming one of the most popular methods of transportation around the world. But, as ride-sharing increases in popularity, so do ride-sharing accidents. In fact, Uber and Lyft have both been linked to traffic fatalities in the past few years. If you are injured in a ride-sharing accident, it’s important to understand your rights.
Ride-Sharing Regulations in Texas
In 2017, Governor Abbott signed a bill into law that restructured ride-sharing regulations for the entire state. Some of the key takeaways include:
- Mandatory criminal background and driving history checks for all drivers
- A zero-tolerance policy for intoxicated drivers
- The requirement of a permit from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation with an annual fee of $5,000 for ride-hailing companies to operate across the state
These regulations were put into place to help create safe travel methods for all ride-sharing customers, regardless of the company.
Understanding Who’s At Fault in a Ride-Sharing Accident
As a passenger in an Uber or Lyft, it’s important to understand who’s at fault for any injuries you sustain if you’re ever involved in a ride-sharing accident. In general, the fault lies with either the third-party motorist could be at fault or the ride-share driver.
This means that the third-party’s insurance company or your driver’s liability policy would cover your injuries. Texas requires ride-sharing drivers to have 50/100/25 coverage when their ride-share app is on, equaling $50,000 for each injured passenger, $100,000 per accident and up to $25,000 in property damage.
What Do You Do After an Accident?
If you’re involved in an accident as a ride-share passenger, call the proper authorities and seek medical attention first. Next, both Lyft and Uber require you to report the accident so they can take the proper next steps. You can report an accident online or reach out to the companies via phone to file a report.
Injured in a Ride-Sharing Accident?
If you’ve been injured in a ride-sharing accident, it’s important to remember that you deserve to be compensated for those injuries and the effect they’ve had on your life. Consider hiring a professional attorney to help you navigate the ride-share accident claim process. To learn more about ride-sharing in Texas, send us a message.