Car accidents are infamous for causing serious vehicle damage. Even the seemingly small parking lot fender benders can result in the need for costly repairs. If you’ve been involved in a car accident, you might be wondering how you’ll cover the damage. Here, our attorneys share the facts about who’s responsible for the cost of property damage after an accident in Texas.
Texas Is an At-Fault State
Texas is an at-fault state. This means the at-fault driver’s insurance is responsible for paying for the damage to your vehicle. You do not have to file a claim with your own insurance company unless the driver is uninsured or underinsured. If this is the case, you can file a claim under your own uninsured motorist (UM) coverage.
Texas Insurance Requirements
As an at-fault state, Texas does require drivers to have minimum liability coverage. In Texas, this is known as 30/60/25 coverage. The limits include $30,000 for injuries per person up to $60,000 total and $25,000 for property damage. It’s recommended that Texas drivers purchase additional coverage in the event of a more serious crash or multi-car collision.
What Do I Do If Insurance Isn’t Enough to Cover the Damage?
In some cases, insurance won’t be enough to cover all of the damage to your vehicle, such as your vehicle being totaled. If the at-fault party’s insurance isn’t enough, you can file a legal claim for compensation.
Modified Comparative Negligence
In Texas, you won’t be able to recover from the other party if you are more than 50% at-fault for the accident. If you are less than 50% at-fault, your compensation will be reduced based on your percentage of fault.
For example, if you are found to be 20% at-fault for the accident and need to recover $20,000 from the at-fault driver, your damages will be reduced by $4,000.
The next best step is to reach out to an attorney who can help you make sense of complex Texas law. They can help you receive the compensation you need to make the necessary vehicle repairs.
Car Accident? Reach Out to Our Team!
Have you been involved in a car accident? If so, you don’t have to handle the aftermath alone. After all, determining fault can be complicated. Allow our team to meet you where you are and support you in receiving what you deserve. For a consultation, give us a call today at 972-450-1418 or send us a message.