Rideshare services have changed the way many Dallas-Ft. Worth residents and visitors get around the city. Uber and Lyft are certainly convenient, but unfortunately, they are not accident-proof. These vehicles are sometimes involved in crashes that injure riders, leaving them in need of compensation for their injuries.
If you are injured as a rideshare user, a pedestrian, or a driver or passenger in another vehicle, you may be able to recover compensation, just like in any other auto accident. But the process of obtaining that compensation comes with some unique complications.
Insurance as a Source of Compensation for the Injured Person
Like other types of auto accidents, insurance is the first place to look for compensation in Uber/Lyft crashes. Texas law requires rideshare drivers to carry insurance on the vehicle they use to provide rides. In fact, the law requires rideshare drivers to carry more than just the minimum coverage.
If the severity of your injuries is such that the driver’s policy cannot fully compensate you, then you can pursue further compensation through the insurance coverage provided by Uber and Lyft. Here is the basic way these coverages work:
- Period 0: This is when the rideshare driver’s app is off, and he/she is using their car for personal purposes. Neither Uber or Lyft provides coverage during Period 0, so only the driver’s own insurance covers accidents during this period.
- Period 1: This is when the driver is logged in and waiting for someone to request a ride. When accidents occur in Period 1, Uber and Lyft both provide $50,000 of bodily injury coverage per person up to a maximum of $100,000 per incident. They also cover up to $25,000 in property damage per accident.
- Period 2: This is when the rideshare driver has accepted a trip request and is on the way to the pick-up location. Uber and Lyft both provide up to $1 million in bodily injury coverage and uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage.
- Period 3: This is when you are riding in the Uber/Lyft vehicle. Crashes during Period 3 are covered by the same $1 million policy as Period 2.
If your injuries are so severe that even Uber/Lyft’s policy cannot fully compensate you, then you may be able to file a personal injury lawsuit to recover additional damages. Generally, you must file your lawsuit within two years from the date of the crash.
Contact a Texas Rideshare Accident Lawyer
Rideshare accidents involve multiple insurance policies and insurance companies, meaning things can get complicated quickly. Be sure to seek the advice of an experienced Dallas injury attorney who can unravel the complexities and get you the compensation you deserve.
The Fell Law Firm has extensive experience helping clients who were hurt in rideshare accidents. We are ready to help you. Get started by calling 972-450-1418 or send us a message to arrange a free initial consultation with Mr. Fell.
Format as click to call